Guilford County Schools Meeting Minutes

Facilities Naming Committee 10/28/2020 12:00 PM

Virtual Meeting

Attendees

Committee Members Present

Ms. Deena Hayes, Chair Mr. Pat Tillman

Committee Members Absent

Ms. Winston McGregor

Staff Present

Ms. Lisa Nolen, Clerk

Call to Order

Chairperson Hayes called the meeting to order at 12:17 p.m.

Motion was made by Pat Tillman, seconded by Deena Hayes, to approve the agenda. The motion passed upon unanimous voice vote.

Approval of June 5, 2019 Meeting Minutes

The minutes from the June 5, 2019 meeting were presented for approval.

Motion was made by Pat Tillman, seconded by Deena Hayes, to approve the June 5, 2019 meeting minutes. The motion passed upon unanimous voice vote.

Nomination to Name Herbin-Metz Education Center Gymnasium

Chairperson Hayes stated that the nomination is to name the Herbin-Metz Education Center gymnasium the "Roy James Sanchez III Gymnasium" in honor of Roy Sanchez who served as the physical education teacher at Herbin-Metz for six years before losing his battle with cancer in 2019.

Clerk Lisa Nolen stated that the nomination was submitted by Herbin-Metz Principal Sue Harvey. Ms. Nolen added that, pending Committee approval, the nomination could be presented to the full Board at its November 10 meeting for a First Reading. Typically, following Board acceptance at First Reading, nominations are posted for a 30-public comment period. Ms. Nolen recommended the Committee consider shortening the public comment period to 20 days so that Second Reading could take place at the Board's subsequent meeting on December 8.

Motion was made by Pat Tillman, seconded by Deena Hayes, to approve sending the nomination to the full Board for consideration at its November 10 meeting with a recommendation of a 20-day public comment period. The motion passed upon unanimous voice vote.

Other Business

None.

Adjournment

There being no further business, at 12:23 p.m., motion was made by Pat Tillman, seconded by Deena Hayes, to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed upon unanimous voice vote.